20.6.17

ARC #Review: AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS

Author: Bonnie Pipkin
Series: N/A
Source: eARC via Publisher
Publisher: Flatiron
Publication Date: June 27, 2017
Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary:
In the tradition of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell, a big-hearted journey of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope after a teen's decision to end an unwanted pregnancy

“Troubled.” That’s seventeen-year-old Genesis according to her small New Jersey town. She finds refuge and stability in her relationship with her boyfriend, Peter—until he abandons her at a Planned Parenthood clinic during their appointment to terminate an unwanted pregnancy. The betrayal causes Gen to question everything.

As Gen pushes herself forward to find her new identity without Peter, she must also confront her most painful memories. Through the lens of an ongoing four act play within the novel, the fantasy of their undying love unravels line by line, scene by scene. Digging deeper into her past while exploring the underground theater world of New York City, she rediscovers a long-forgotten dream. But it’s when Gen lets go of her history, the one she thinks she knows, that she’s finally able to embrace the complicated, chaotic true story of her life, and take center stage.


This powerfully immersive and format-crushing debut follows Gen from dorm rooms to diners to house parties to auditions—and ultimately, right into readers’ hearts.
Purchase:
Amazon | Chapters | TBD
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book and decided to review it. This in no way impacts my opinions of the book.

This was really enjoyable and I loved the story and the characters but I wasn't a huge fan of the format with the flashbacks being in script. I think I would have enjoyed it more without that aspect. But I still really liked it! I think if you are a fan of heavy contemporary novels, this is one for you. The characters, the story, everything really worked for me.